WMS Key stuck in lock............how can i remove it?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I accidentally snapped the key on the front door. I have a spare key, so i would just like to get the other half of the key out of the door, and unfortunately it is still stuck in the door.

It is a WMS key on a lock, and i have no experience with locks, so do not know the first place to start. All i have tried at the moment is trying to push the key out with the spare key, but that didnt work.

I would greatly appreciate any tips that would allow me to avoid calling a locksmith out. (I can insert the other half of the key in from the inside and lock the door, but cannot insert a key from the outside)

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I am a bit of a rookie when it comes to locks. How can i tell if its a euro profile cylinder? And does the above just mean the shape of the lock, or how it actually operates?

Cheers

Sponsored Links
I havent tried getting the lock out yet, so i cannot comment on the bits inbetween, but both ends of it look really similar, so i think it would be safe to assume that it most probably is.

well you could try taking the handles off from the inside, spray some lubricant and gently try to remove the key with some pliers...failing that you would need to renew the lock asp

It is fairly easy to do but the cylinders do come in different sizes so you will need to measure it to make sure you get the right one.

Cheers for your help, will try that asap, and will let you know the results.

I successfully removed the handles as instructed, however i was unable to remove the screw on the lock, which i think was due to the screw getting worn out, and the screwdriver was unable to get a grip on it.

What can i do to fix this? Will a simple hardware store of some sort have an materials that will help get a worn out screw out?