Wooden Floor Dilema

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dear All,

I am having a major dilema and would appreciate any advice anyone can give me. I am a complete amateur at this...

I've sanded the wooden floors in my lounge - they are pine, between about 10-20 years old. I want to stain and protect them but am having trouble coming up with the right product.

I am looking to change the colour to something like beech. I don't like the look of pine but don't want the wood to come up too dark as there is not a lot of natural light.

I was all ready to use Osmo Oil Wood Wax in Beech and finish with the Poly-oil, but I understand the surface will not be as durable as with a laquer/varnish and I won't want to have to do regular maintenance so would prefer a lacquer/varnish finish.

For varnishes I have been recommended Bona Traffic by some people but others have said this has not been so good. I was then also recommended Bourneseal, but on checking, it seems to have gone out of production. I understand also that Osmo Wood Wax finish stain, being oil based, wouldn't work with Bournseal anyway as they wouldn't be compatible.

Could someon please recommend a make of stain and a compatible make of varnish/lacquer that I can apply myself? Getting desperate as since sanding the floor marks with any kind of shoes and I have all the furniture out, and basically I can't use the space at all until I get this resolved.

Many many thanks for advice from those wiser than me!!!

Sorehead

Sponsored Links
dont be so hasty to eliminate the use of a hardwax oil. Yes they may not be as hard wearing as laquers like traffic but maintenence of an oil coated floor is not difficult and a lot easier to repair damaged areas.

If your floor gets scratched then its only a case of giving it a quick rub with a bit of sandpaper and rubbing a bit more oil on it, takes a few minutes maximum Most wooden floors we fit we coat in osmo or treatex oil (treatex is probably our preferred oil)