Worcester Bosch Combi Ignition Lockout

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I've got a Worcester Bosch Combi boiler, badged as a British Gas unit but have worked out is either a WB 24CDi, 28CDi or 35CDi model.

There seems to be a problem with Ignition Lockout. :cry: The unit can be on for either 10 minutes or 10 hours, totally random time period, and then enters the ignition lockout state. I think that the burner is trying to re-ignite after the thermostat kicks in, doesn't re-ingnite and then enters the lockout state. The unit can be reset manually, but if the central heating is on for any number of hours, sometimes it has to be reset several times - after each one of these events. It's not a major issue to keep resetting but this clearly shouldn't be happening.

I'm not a boiler expert, but I'm guessing this one might be a quick, no-brainer for those in the know.

Can anyone help? :D

Sponsored Links
Had this last week on a 35cdi , PCB appeared to lose flame signal after a random time but worked ok whenever we appeared. Changed PCB after 3rd visit and we havent heard from him since. Its a thought.

could also be lack of gas, low pressure, faulty lead, duf electrodes, lack of service or overheating.
when was the last service?

Hello all,

I'm not a boiler expert, but I'm guessing this one might be a quick, no-brainer for those in the know.

Can anyone help? :D

Its easy for you to guess that because of the common perception that those who mend boilers are called plumbers and, as everyone knows, they leave school at 14 and are thick!

Of course the reality is a little different ! Boilers are not quite so simple and a single fault like an ignition lockout can be caused by many different reasons as indicated above.