Worcester Greenstar CDI - Leaking primary HX - best way forward?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Our Worcester Greenstar 42CDI has been losing pressure, and I have confirmed that it is the primary HX / Heatcell. :(

(I checked all the usual suspects first, pressure vessel is OK and precharged to 1bar, relief valve isn't passing, no visible leaks around boiler or CH pipework. The to confirm my worst fears I switched the boiler off at the spur this morning, then when cold, filled the system to 1.5bar and closed the flow and return isolation valves, and ran the condensate drain into a bucket. Result: Pressure drop of about 0.3bar in 2 hours, with a drip every 2 secs into the bucket. Bugger)

So, what's the best way forward? The boiler was in the house when we moved here 4 years ago, and the previous owner was only here for 3-4 years, and he installed the boiler himself (he's a GSR gas fitter by trade), so it is definitely less than 10 years old.
Worcester do guarantee these for 10 years...
https://www.worcester-bosch.co.uk/gas-boiler-primary-heat-exchanger-guarantee
but I don't have the original installation paperwork / receipt etc. (I am trying to contact the previous owner)
It also hasn't been annually serviced as such - an ex-gas fitter friend has checked it over every year for us, but as he was paid in beer there is no paperwork.

Do I have any chance of blagging this out of Worcester?

I have read elsewhere that Worcester used to offer a fixed-price repair service (£299?), but I can't find this on their website now... As I think I would be over £400 for the part itself, this seems a very good deal, if it is still available.

What do you think I should do from here? (I am confident in changing the HX myself, if that is the cheapest option)

Is a leak such as this repairable? Any compounds that will hold the pressure and stand the heat of combustion?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links