Work Wanted

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am a soldier just about to come out of the Army and i am looking at a new career after 22 years as a Vehicle Mechanic. I am diy competent (IMHO), have completed a few projectsover the years. I know companies that promise the earth with their 6 week courses to make you a qualified plumber but this is nothing as you need experience in any trade. I am after working for someone to gain experience and hopefully gain my self full time employment in a new career. I am live in Lancs, Burnley, can travel. Has anyone anything to offer.

thanks in advance

ian

Sponsored Links
Ian, if you have had 22 years as a vehicle mechanic in the Army then why dont you do the obvious thing and go into the automotive trade in the UK ?

Its one area the East Europeans dont seem to have made much impact.

Tony

Just had a guy working with me who came out of the army. They are paying his wages for 6 months so he came for free. I'm just a one man band and my range of jobs is which he needs to complete his ACS is not as great as a firm who I introduced him to. He's been there for over a month now and is doing well. It's better suited to him as he prefers the regimental 9-5 style of work rather than my 'whenever I feel like starting to whenever I finish' hours of working.
Mechanics are one of the few trades that I reckon can easily slot into the plumbing genre as they have common sense and practical ability. I'd rather see someone like yourself come into the trade rather than a money orientated pen or button pusher so although I can't help you personally I do wish you well in your quest.
I see you have used the internet as a tool which may yet be fruitful but from the above experience I say ' It's not just what you know. It's who you know'