1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

16amp oven and 16amp microwave on 13amp plug

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Gogwod1, 23 Apr 2021.

  1. Gogwod1

    Gogwod1

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hiya
    I've tried looking for other answers but nothing seems to answer it so here it goes.

    My oven circuit is run in a 6mm to a twin socket that is supplying a 16amp oven and a 16amp microwave.
    They are fed by a 32amp b type MCB.
    The oven and microwave have a 13amp plug top on both.
    Siemens came to repair the oven and stated......"wired in wrong, both need a 16amp power supply but were both wired in
    with 13amp fuse plugs"

    I understand the 13amp plug problem but the circuit itself is fine isn't it?
    If so, can I just swap the the twin socket for 2x 20amp double pole switches?
    Thank you in advance
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,125
    Thanks Received:
    4,035
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, the circuit is fine if you just connect the oven and microwave directly to it without the socket and plugs.

    It is possible that the oven and more probably the microwave do not actually require 16A.

    Did they both come with plugs attached?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Gogwod1

    Gogwod1

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hiya thank you for your reply.
    They did indeed which I assumed would be okay. Just thought there may be a difference in European plugs and voltage etc.
    Thank you again, that really helped
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,125
    Thanks Received:
    4,035
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    If you bought them in the UK and they came with a UK plug then they will be alright to simply plug in and use.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    71,069
    Thanks Received:
    4,027
    Location:
    Crossgates
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Is it a dedicated cooker circuit with just one outlet?

    Or is it a socket circuit with many?
     
  7. Gogwod1

    Gogwod1

    Joined:
    23 Apr 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dedicated circuit with one outlet
     
  8. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    71,069
    Thanks Received:
    4,027
    Location:
    Crossgates
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Did they arrive with European plugs or with UK plugs?

    (If you are in the UK, fused UK plugs are obligatory)

    European instructions often refer to 16A circuits because that is the norm; not because it is necessary.

    Plug-in appliances for the UK market do not require 16A supplies.
     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page