2 Amp appliances

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

I'm not an electrical expert so I have very little clue about amps, watts and their relationship. So, if you would be so kind as to help, please imagine you're talking to a small child in any explanation you might provide :)

I have just moved into a new-build house which includes rounded three-pin sockets controlled by a wall switch. I've managed to work out that a 2 amp plug fits these sockets, but for the life of me I can't find any websites that list appliances with a 2 amp plug attached to them. Everything seems to use standard plugs. So my questions are:

1. Does anyone know where such appliances can be bought?
2. Can these sort of sockets be used for both floor lamps and table lamps? I'm most interested in floor lamps.
3. Can I just buy some 2 amp plugs and attach them to the lamps I have already bought?
4. If the answer to 3 is yes, then presumably there is a limit to how much power the lamp is allowed to draw from the socket. This is where I get really fuzzy. One of the lamps has a maximum 250 watt father light and a max 50 watt child light. Can this be plugged into the 2amp socket?
5. If the answer to 4 is no, then what if, despite the fact that maximum bulbs the lamp can are 250w and 50w, I just used a 100w and 50w bulb, or a 50w and a 50w bulb. Would that make a difference?

Any explanation would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
I believe it is now a legal requirement that appliances are supplied with 'an appropriate plug already fitted'. As most are plugged into 13 Amp sockets, they are all usually supplied with 13 Amp plugs.

The sockets can be used for table lamps or standard lamps.