240v Floodlight Problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have stuck a floodlight at the top of my garden and connected into an exterior IP65 box via SWA.

I have used the following harmonized scheme and double checked both ends are aligned:
brown - live
grey - neutral
black - earth

I guess this is irrelevant given that I checked both ends are wired same.

Its not working!

I have checked the bulb and its fine and the socket is live.

My voltage detector pen lights up on the cable as it exits the box. The I have buried it 18" deep.

My voltage pen does not light on the cable as it enters the light though.

The distance between ends is about 12 meters.

I am getting a Pro in but just wondered if this sounds normal ie. the distance will impact the power?

Yes, I am a complete amateur Will get a pro in but just trying to learn.

cheers

Sponsored Links
I have stuck a floodlight at the top of my garden and connected into an exterior IP65 box via SWA.

I have used the following harmonized scheme and double checked both ends are aligned:
brown - live
grey - neutral
black - earth

Its not working!

I have checked the bulb and its fine and the socket is live.

My voltage detector pen lights up on the cable as it exits the box. The I have buried it 18" deep.

The distance between ends is about 12 meters.

I am getting a Pro in but just wondered if this sounds normal ie. the distance will impact the power?

Yes, I am a complete amateur Will get a pro in but just trying to learn.

cheers

I hope you have put green/yellow sleeving on the black wire and blue sleeving on the grey wire.
No it is not normal, there is a fault.
Voltage detector pens are pretty useless.
Hopefully your pro will sort it.

cheers for the comments.

Yes, to the sleeving.

The bulb is in about as tight as it will go so maybe the light is faulty.

Will wait for the expert.

cheers.

Sponsored Links
My voltage detector pen lights up on the cable as it exits the box.