Installing floodlight

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

I am bit of a novice here so bear with me.

I have a floodlight outside our front door, however I want to put annother floodlight around the back in the garden.

Is it a simple case of cutting the cable going to my front door floodlight putting in a connector and house it in a waterproof case and run a new cable off it going around the back to the new floodlight.

Both have PIR'S and are connected to a double switch inside the house in the hallway which just stays on.

Cheers

Sanj

Sponsored Links
Any connections made outside which are not within the provided enclosure on the floodlight would require notification under Part P.

cobblers.. it's notifiable not matter where the connections are.. since he's doing electrics outside...

Sponsored Links
ALL work on outside electrics are notifiable.

2. Work which -
(a) is not in a kitchen, or a special location,

(b) does not involve work on a special installation, and

(c) consists of -
(i) adding light fittings and switches to an existing circuit; or

(ii) adding socket outlets and fused spurs to an existing ring or radial circuit;

4. For the purposes of this Schedule -
"kitchen" means a room or part of a room which contains a sink and food preparation facilities;

"special installation" means an electric floor or ceiling heating system, an outdoor lighting or electric power installation, an electricity generator, or an extra-low voltage lighting system which is not a pre-assembled lighting set bearing the CE marking referred to in regulation 9 of the Electrical Equipment
(Safety) Regulations 1994[14];

a direct quote from the actual law, not the guidance..

as you can see, it's a "special installation" as defined

Not as far as the additions to Approved document P state.
Oh dear.

Firstly, Approved Document P is not the law, it is only guidance. This is the law.