30a ring main 32a oven - what to do?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Apologies for a total newbie question - I've had a look on the forum and can't find a match - which could just mean this is such a naive question no-one would ask it! :confused:

I'm having my kitchen refitted and have ordered a new single built-under oven. All the ovens we looked at (and my wife wanted!) were rated at 32 Amp. The problem is our flat is in a converted house and has an old fusebox type arrangement in the hall which looks quite ancient to me. The fuse box has a separate ring main for the oven but it appears to be rated at 30Amp.

So the newbie question is, does this mean we will have to get the electricity company to replace our fusebox with a newer unit that has a higher rated ring main, and does it mean we will have to have the oven ring main re-wired?

I'm thinking that wiring is the kind of thing our builder should have checked when he came to quote for the work, and he didn't mention it, but it wouldn't be the first time a builder's missed something...

Any help much appreciated!
Si

Sponsored Links
I highly doubt that you didnt find an oven rated under 30 amps.

MOST domestic ovens are rated below 20 amps (4.6kw),

MOST single ovens are rated under 13 amps (3kw) (ie. you can plug them in)

The electricity company has nothing to do with your fusebox, it is your / your landlord's property, and you must employ a spark to change or update it.

Please check the power rating of your oven, in KW or W. It may have a KWH number. Ignore this, we want the total maximum KW or W. It is highly likely to be under 3000w or 3kw.

And a 32 amp appliance will sit happily on a 30 amp circuit.

Your oven circuit is not a ring main, it is a radial.

Even if your oven was rated at 32 amps, it contains several elements and thermostats that means realisitically it would never actually draw 32 amps, and would probably sit happily on a 20 amp circuit.