9v adaptor - does the mA figure matter?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I have a baby monitor where the 9v adaptor has just given up the ghost. On the adaptor it also says 300mA, but I don't know what that means. I have another 9v adaptor, but it says 600mA on it. Can I use this adaptor on the monitor, or would this be dangerous?

Sponsored Links
Im thinking, the new adaptor will be using 50% power.

Just check the polarity of the final connector is same.

A

ps. Im NOT an electrician.l

mA is the amount of current the device can supply

your monitor requires 300mA at most, so a supply of upto 600mA will be fine.
PROVIDED:

1)the new power supply is stableised (it will say so)

2) the plug is the same polarity*

some will allow you to "turn the plug round" so what was +ve is now -ve

(make sure the drawing on each is the same for polarity)

I can't easliy do drawings :cry: but it looks like an almost circle with a line coming from the gap, make sure they are both the same, usualy the almost circle is -ve

Excuse my ignorance Al, how do I test the polarity? I've tried plugging it in for a few seconds, and it appears to work with the new adaptor
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

thanks Breezer. Looks like the polarity is the same, but the new adaptor doesn't seem to state stabilised anywhere

please use the edit button

Sponsored Links
deeks said:
Excuse my ignorance Al, how do I test the polarity? I've tried plugging it in for a few seconds, and it appears to work with the new adaptor
You're lucky it was the correct polarity. Even a fraction of a second could have kaynackered the monitor if it was the wrong way round. If it works, cool!

TTC

It's pretty unlikely these days that connecting with the wrong polarity will cause any damage, as any half competent designer is going to put a blocking diode in line. Some even put a bridge in, so the polarity is irrelevant.

davelx said: