Adding socket to consumer unit

Joined
15 Feb 2013
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Location
Aberdeenshire
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm building a work bench in the garage and would like to add some sockets to it. There is a separate small consumer unit in the garage and the bench just happens to be right underneath it.

Can I just add another socket in from the bottom to the one already used
20171212_121756.jpg
for sockets? (circled)
20171212_121756.jpg


Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
10 Mar 2007
Messages
10,356
Reaction score
2,114
Location
Poole, Dorset
Country
United Kingdom
Circuits are connected to the top of the MCB.
There is no RCD in that consumer unit, which any additional sockets will require.
 
Joined
15 Feb 2013
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Location
Aberdeenshire
Country
United Kingdom
Is it possible to add another RCD alongside the ones there currently? Sorry I have no experience with consumer units but trying to learn. Thanks
 
Joined
15 Nov 2005
Messages
77,075
Reaction score
4,780
Location
Crossgates, Europe
Country
Cook Islands
show us the CU (presumably the main house one) that supplies your garage. Possibly the circuit is RCD protected there.

In your little garage CU, the main switch could be changed for an RCD. Its been a long time (over 20 years) since new sockets that could reasonably be expected to be used with outdoor equipment (such as lawnmowers, car tools) had to be RCD protected.

If that MCB already supplies one or more sockets, it might be preferable to alter or reroute the existing circuit cable to add more sockets along it. Be aware that the MCB is 16Amp, so you will only be able to run one large appliance, such as a fan heater, off it, or a larger number of small appliances.
 
Joined
15 Feb 2013
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Location
Aberdeenshire
Country
United Kingdom
That question displays such a total lack of knowledge of the basics of circuit wiring that you should not be attempting any sort of electrical work.

At the end of the day its pretty simple stuff eh. Like I said I'm learning, everyone including you had to at some point, I assume?
 
Joined
11 Jan 2010
Messages
7,607
Reaction score
606
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
In your little garage CU, the main switch could be changed for an RCD. Its been a long time (over 20 years) since new sockets that could reasonably be expected to be used with outdoor equipment (such as lawnmowers, car tools) had to be RCD protected.

No need what so ever to put a RCD in the garage. It is already protected by the one in the house.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
26 Sep 2006
Messages
1,953
Reaction score
173
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
I wonder what that interloping Wylex B40's doing there - electrician didn't have a blanking plate, perhaps? :)
 
Joined
15 Feb 2013
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Location
Aberdeenshire
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for all the helpful replies.

I can just connect the live into the top of the current 'socket' MCD in the garage consumer unit?

Just to clarify if I was to install another MCD in the garage consumer unit I could have another separate circuit for the new socket?

Also do you guys have a list of what the used twin and earth sizes should be used for different applications?

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
26 Aug 2016
Messages
6,581
Reaction score
927
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for all the helpful replies.

I can just connect the live into the top of the current 'socket' RCD in the garage consumer unit?

Just to clarify if I was to install another RCD in the garage consumer unit I could have another separate circuit for the new socket?

Also do you guys have a list of what the used twin and earth sizes should be used for different applications?

Thanks
Turn it off first, but yes live in the top, neutral in the neutral bar, and CPC in the earth bar.

RCD is the wider thing in your main cu where it says RCD protected circuits, MCB are the small switches one for each circuit.
Cable sizing is not necessarily trivial, but generally 2.5mm for socket circuits will do 20a, or 32a as a ring, and lighting was historically done as 1.5 but often now as 1.0mm.
There's a good chance your sockets MCB in the garage unit could be increased, but without knowing the cable routing there may well be a good reason for it being like that.
It doesn't look like you have any spare ways in the garage board, but you could do other things to get around the problem, possibly including changing the breaker to 20a+ and using a 13a fcu to run the existing socket circuit plus the new sockets in parallel. But that would be a job for an electrician.
 
Joined
15 Feb 2013
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Location
Aberdeenshire
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks John D for the great tips, knowledge and the time it took to reply. Much appreciated. I had just realised my mistake calling MCB RCD's and edited my post. At least now I have a little knowledge when I speak to an electrician.
 
Sponsored Links
Top