Advise on fittinga 6th rad to a microbore baxi bermudasystem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello folks,,

Newbie here...can you take a goosies at this..:0)

I have a baxi bermuda back boiler running five radiators
Two small rads, two medium and a large one.Now I have flushed and drained the system, it seems to run well as I am unable to hold onto the bottom of the rads for long without being scolded..:0)
The system is 25 years old

I would like to add an extra bathroom/shower room rad which I am told needs to be large.

There is a plate on the fire front that says the system outputs 20,000 btu's.

To find out if I can successfully add another rad, do I just add the btu capacity of each rad to see if it is within the capacity of the system? Or do I have to take heat losses , pipe runs and all sorts of other factors into account just as much? It seems that the system would be able to cope.

Also, is there any way I can improve the efficiency of the back boiler by cleaning it out or something?The flame seems the right colour (mostly blue flame) but the system works o.k.

Any input would be most appeciated..

jg

Sponsored Links
I'm not up on this sort of thing but I think the plate you are talking about could be the rating of the fire in front of the back boiler.
It will on the same plate say PW2.
I might be wrong on this one though. Mine has 20.000btu on it as well.
I could do with a definative answer on this one too.

Tony