1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Aerial cable

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Smaa21, 8 Jan 2021.

  1. Smaa21

    Smaa21

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi there I was wondering if anyone knew the reason for my aerial cable not fitting my ANT port on my new Samsung smart TV. The end of the cable and the port itself are the exact same size so I can’t fit either one into the other. Please help!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because you're trying to plug "F connectors" into a standard aerial socket.

    Cables with F connectors usually come from a dish, not an aerial.
     
  4. Smaa21

    Smaa21

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh I see, how do I get around this? I have just moved into this house, my previous home/tv etc was different.
     
  5. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Assuming they are connected to a dish and they work, you could get a Freesat box or a Freesat TV. Can you borrow a Freesat box or a TV with Freesat built in to check they even work before spending any money?

    Can you see that twin white cable outside going up to a dish? Is there an aerial up there, too?
     
  6. Smaa21

    Smaa21

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it goes to a dish but I can’t see an aerial. Are there any adapters I could try? I’ve never had this issue before and no idea why to do to get my TV set up :(
     
  7. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are adapters for sale which will connect those two types, but they're not intended for fixing the problem you have. They will not work at all.
     
  8. Smaa21

    Smaa21

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’m a bit confused too as it’s a smart TV, I shouldn’t need a box should I? I thought this cable goes straight into got TV. That was what my old old did at home we had a dish and a cable straight into the TV
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That can't be right, I'm afraid. That TV doesn't have an input that can take satellite signals. You either had an aerial you didn't know about(they can be inside a loft sometimes) or you just had it hooked to your broadband router with an ethernet cable.(or both)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Smaa21

    Smaa21

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, so if this house only has a dish which I believe it does (have only been in a few days), then the only way I can set up my smart TV is to buy a free sat box, connect the cables from the dish to the box and then connect that to my TV? I don’t have a TV package with anyone as have Netflix and amazon etc so was just going to use freeview or freesat
     
  12. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, for the 'normal' free channels, then connect it to your broadband router with an ethernet cable for Netflix/amazon/YouTube/whatever-your-TV-supports..
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,674
    Thanks Received:
    966
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    By the sound of it, your old TV had a satellite tuner (for a dish signal) as well as a regular coax socket for an aerial signal. This means the TV had two tuners.

    With that kind of TV you had the option to choose either tuner (or both!) for whichever would be most convenient. I guess at your old place the most convenient signal was a satellite dish. That's what you used, and you never really gave it much thought. It was more or less the same range of TV channels.

    Aerial signals and satellite dish signals are two different languages if you will. Adding an adapter to change the shape of the plug end won't do anything to change the 'language' of the signal coming down the wire.

    If you had your old TV then there's a good chance you could have connected one of those leads and been up and running without issue. However, your new TV only understands aerial language and not satellite dish language.

    Your choices then are either to buy a satellite tuner or sat recorder box (a Freesat receiver or Freesat recorder), or get an aerial signal in to the room either by finding if there's an aerial somewhere on- or in- (loft) your new place, or have an aerial installed.

    The smart features of your new TV are a completely separate set of tools.

    You could decide to forego live TV and just watch catch-up TV via the smart apps. This won't give you a delayed version of everything that is broadcast live though. What you will get is each station's most popular programmes for those channels that offer catch-up services.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  14. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Apologies Smaa21, I missed the bit where you said new TV! I assumed it was just the same one you had brought with you, hence what I wrote in post number 8.
     
    Last edited: 9 Jan 2021
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  15. Smaa21

    Smaa21

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you both! I have managed to contact the retailer and exchanged for a smart TV with built in freesat :) happy camper as saved some money in my return also! Thanks again for your time
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page