Backbox not deep enough for socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

I have a socket in my house - above the kitchen cupboards - which was never screwed in to the backbox (I know, shocking!)

It never previously bothered me, but I went up there to screw it in the other day and realised why it was never done - the backbox is not deep enough to accept the socket face!

So, since I don't fancy putting a deeper backbox in (it's in a really awkward place and I've never done that before), can I:

- get a slimmer socket face? Is this something I can get from Screwfix/City Electrical/other electrical factors, as I'd like to get it done tomorrow?

or, alternatively, since I never use it:

- connect the ring together there and put a blanking plate over? What would be the preferred way to do this, a (suitably rated) chocblock?

Cheers!

Sponsored Links
can I:- get a slimmer socket face? Is this something I can get from Screwfix/City Electrical/other electrical factors,
Yes, although it will likely have a thicker front while the back will be shallower (unless the back box is something out of the ordinary).

Fine by me. So I just ask for a socket with a shallower back on it? No special names or anything?

Sponsored Links
Most plastic faced (non slim line) have about the same depth of internals that sit in the B/box.

Metal faced are the deepest.

If the sockets in the rest of the prperty are different you could try a swap.

Is the box really too shallow or is it poor postion of the cable in the box causing trapping when you attempt to do the socket fix?

If you dont use it, and because a mis match in a room of sockets looks like a pigs ear, I'd fit a blanking plate and just join the cabling with connectors, 30 amp ones.

I have come across countless installations in South Manchester with Crabtree sockets with plasterdepth metal boxes behind.