Bathroom Extractor Fan confusion!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am trying to replace a bathroom extractor fan in my girlfriends bathroom. We have just moved in and understand the previous owner never had the fan working. There is no switch so i can only assume it is cord activated. I have taken the old fan off the wall, expecting to have to disconnect from the mains but when i got the fan off there did not seem to be any obvious electrical connection! (I am no electrician!) There is random wiring in a socket a few inches away from the fan but i see no connection between the two?

I have posted some pictures in case this helps explain the problem.

The two holes in the wall where the socket and fan were.

The Fan

The Fan

The Socket

The plate that was covering the wired socket

I was intending on buying a new fan and connecting it up. I am now a bit confused on how i will do this. Does anyone have any advice or do i need to get an electrician in?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
If there is no cable to the fan it is going to need one!

Whether the box contains what is required for the fan (lighting circuit live, neutral and switched live) can only be determined with a test meter and its impossible to say from the picture, even if you cleaned away the cobwebs so we can see the connections!

If you do not have test equipment, you're going to need an electrician to determine which type of fan you need, and to fit it for you.

Looks to me as though at some time there was a length of flex exiting through the front of that plate and entering the fan through a knockout on the bottom.

Well, there's two main problems!

1. The wires are not connected to each other (assuming that is for the fan).

2. The fan is not connected to any wires.

Where is the switch box in relation to shower or bath?

EDIT: KINELL!

Yeah, Scoby's sharper-eyed than me!