bit of advice needed if you can help please...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a musician and have recently bought an amplifier for my band..
The amp is 10000 watt and I have been advised that I may need to put a 16amp plug on this.. I have no problem with that , but a lot of the venues we play do not have a 16 amp socket..so should I just get the 13amp plug tail with a 16 amp socket on which to my mind is just like plugging my amp straight into the wall using a 13 amp plug fitted to amp..or is there more to this than I am assuming.
Thanks for any help and advice you can give me..
Cheers
James

Sponsored Links
Would I be mad for thinking a venue that allows for a 10k amp should have suitable sockets for the amp?

If the amp requires 16amp then converting it down to a 13 amp plug will simply blow the 13amp fuse in the plug, this could be a fire risk in a public venue and some one woulkd lose there testicles if such a thing happened and was proved to be the owner of the amps fault.

Have you a link for the amp spec or manufactures site?

Those figures don't add up. Are you talking about SPL or electrical power input? If electrical, you're looking at 10kW then you need 44A (not 16) I'd suggest getting the details of the amp and contacting the maker (there may be something on Google). Such huge machines often use 3 phase.
Please be careful, not only are you looking at large currents, but some parts may run at very high voltages.

Those figures don't add up. Are you talking about SPL or electrical power input? If electrical, you're looking at 10kW then you need 44A (not 16) I'd suggest getting the details of the amp and contacting the maker (there may be something on Google). Such huge machines often use 3 phase.
Please be careful, not only are you looking at large currents, but some parts may run at very high voltages.

This is the spec that I got straight from the labgruppen site
Power
Operating voltage, 230 V / 115 V nominal 4) 130-265 V / 65-135 V