Boiler/ timer pump wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just replacing my old boiler. The pump in the airing cupboard was switched directly by the water / heating timer in the kitchen.

The new boiler has the pump switched by the electronics control inside the boiler itself. To save running a wire up the outside wall into & across the loft, then down into to airing cupboard to the pump, could I disconnect the pump wire from behind the water / heating timer, & extend & route it (~1 ft [sorry E.U, 300mm]) to the boiler?

My main reason for asking is I’ve opened the junction box in the airing cupboard & see the pump wire also goes to a couple of wires inside the 3 way valve, as I’m not a heating engineer I was just concerned.

Thanks for any advice.

Mark (electronics engineer)

Sponsored Links
I'm not sure many guys on here will advise DIY'ers when they're doing work that's meant to be done by gas qualified engineers.

Best thing I could say is to get someone in that knows or at least follow the instrucions that the boiler came with. It's not a Ravenheat by any chance is it?

Just replacing my old boiler. The pump in the airing cupboard was switched directly by the water / heating timer in the kitchen.

I’ve opened the junction box in the airing cupboard & see the pump wire also goes to a couple of wires inside the 3 way valve

Make and model of three way valve?

Which valve wires do the pump wires (brown, blue, green-yellow) connect to?

To save running a wire up the outside wall into & across the loft, then down into to airing cupboard to the pump, could I disconnect the pump wire from behind the water / heating timer, & extend & route it (~1 ft [sorry E.U, 300mm]) to the boiler?
This should be possible, but we need to know which boiler you are having installed and the three way valve info.

The boiler is a Potterton Suprima. Regular boiler, that just has connection for:
1. mains input
2. a switched input (from the timer)
3. The pump output