Building and rendering a garden wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I have an existing wall that divides the patio area from the lawn in my garden. The wall is currently only 2 bricks high by 1 brick length wide and constructed of what looks to me like standard size house bricks

I would like to build up the wall to a more practical 'sit-onable' height, before rendering the wall and painting.

I have a few questions on this and would be very grateful if anyone could help:

a) I have no bricklaying experience, but would like to attempt this myself. Could I use some type of block, instead of standard bricks to speed up the wall building process? Is it possible to find blocks like this whose width is the same as a standard house brick length?

b) What is this type of brick or block called, so I don't sound too stupid when asking about them! Is there a particular material brick, ie concrete that i should use if i want to render it afterwards?

c) Is attempting the rendering myself with no experience worth a go, or is it like normal plastering where i should really get a professional in?

Many thanks for all your help!

russ98rjl

Sponsored Links
you can use 100mm concrete blocks. they will only be a few millimetres smaller than the width of the bricks you already have there, and any diffrence will be lost when you render it.
Why not use something like an oak sleeper across the top of the existing wall to make a feature of it and give you a decent seat. Youd need another course of bricks under it to run alongside the existing courses you have there, but you wont see them as theyll be hidden by the sleeper, so your brickwork skills wont show too much!

Cheers Thermo, thats an excellent idea!...what would be the best way to fix the sleeper to the brick? Any ideas hows to restore a reclaimed sleeper? some kind of varnish / sealant?

Also, how much should i expect to pay for these 100mm concrete blocks?

Many thanks!

Sponsored Links