1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Built in hob and oven wiring help

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Lauramillie, 13 Jun 2019.

  1. Lauramillie

    Lauramillie

    Joined:
    13 Jun 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all.

    My electric hob has broken so I am looking at replacing it.

    My oven is below the hob and they are both operated by the same main switch.

    Currently my oven is 1850kw

    I have spoken to an electrician who says the hob shouldn't be operated from the same switch as it will go over the max kw.. I have had the hob hooked up this way since I have moved in (it was already here) and have never had an issue. He said i could possibly keep it like that if i find a hob under 5.5kw

    Just looking for opinions really before I go out an buy a hob that I may not be able to use! I have put a photo of the wiring behind the oven, the hob wires go into the left and the oven goes into the right
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 13 Jun 2019
  2. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    27,712
    Thanks Received:
    2,974
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Well, assuming it is a standard cooker circuit with 30A fuse or 32A MCB, then all you need is a different electrician, one who knows what he is doing.
     
    Last edited: 13 Jun 2019
  3. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,756
    Thanks Received:
    2,856
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's possible that he doesn't have a clue what he's talking about.

    What is the rating of the fuse/MCB/RCBO for the cooker circuit?

    Please post a photo of the switch.


    What's the rating of the old hob?


    Why are there two cables coming out of each side?
     
  4. Lauramillie

    Lauramillie

    Joined:
    13 Jun 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Picture of switch. Current hob is 7000 and has been fine.

    I'm not sure about the 2 wires I will have a look again. There's definitely only the 1 coming out of the hob.

    Thanks for the help
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,756
    Thanks Received:
    2,856
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just noticed this:

    No it isn't.

    1850W could be right.

    1.85kW could be right.

    But not 1.85 megawatts...
     
  6. Lauramillie

    Lauramillie

    Joined:
    13 Jun 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have attached pic of inside oven. (Can you tell I don't have a clue!) You are right 1.85kw

    It says max power 1,850 Kw
    230 V ~ 50Hz
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Lauramillie

    Lauramillie

    Joined:
    13 Jun 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The hob I am hoping to get is 6000
     
  8. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,756
    Thanks Received:
    2,856
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Assuming the oven rating is at 230V like the hob is, your current 7kW hob + 1.85kW oven is calculated as 18.6 or 21.6A (depending on how you parse the poor English wording of the guidelines. Most people use the interpretation which gives 18.6A).

    http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Book/6.2.1.htm

    Your so-called electrician is simply adding up the peak ratings of hob and oven, and is telling you you need a hob of no more than 5.5kW because he, in his ignorance of how to do his job, thinks that's what a 32A cooker circuit is limited to.

    Do not waste your time asking him to explain, or reconsider etc.

    Ignore the charlatan, and find an electrician who does actually know how to do the job you are paying him to do.
     
  9. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,756
    Thanks Received:
    2,856
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you confirm the rating of the fuse or breaker for the cooker circuit?
     
  10. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    3,923
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    take a picture of your fuse box with the flap open
     
  11. davelx

    davelx

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,551
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In most of the rest of Europe, they use a comma where we use a decimal point.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. seasickstevie

    seasickstevie

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,509
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Begs the question, what do they do if it really is 1,850 ?
     
  13. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,583
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They use a full stop.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    4,580
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does but that means 1.85Kw in English. In Germany they use a comma as a decimal point.

    EDIT Should have read the whole thread first.
     
  15. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,756
    Thanks Received:
    2,856
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
Loading...

Share This Page