1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Cable on new replacement oven

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Jupiter01, 17 Dec 2020.

  1. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,975
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am replacing a oven under a gas hob (cut into the worktop). I purchased an oven which requires a 13 Amp (Requires hardwiring to a fused spur) connection.

    The old oven was connected into a cooker switch via a 6mm T&E cable.

    I didn’t realise that the new oven doesn’t come with a new cable and instead, used some 2.5mm T&E cable that I had. Is this adequate?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sxturbo

    sxturbo

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    3,626
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's fine as long as you have a 13mm fuse between the cooker and the 6mm old cooker connection
     
  4. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    5,965
    Thanks Received:
    1,230
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you wiring 2.5mm² from oven to a fused connection unit ?
     
  5. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,595
    Thanks Received:
    1,082
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2.5mm2 T+E isn't really suitable, because it's not flexible enough.

    All the cores are solid, it just hasn't got the flexibility.

    That said, it was always the norm to use 6.0mm2 T+E to go straight into an oven, the cores of this are stranded - though not the earth for the last 50 or 60 years.
     
  6. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,975
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The 2.5mm isn’t flexible but it seems to have fitted ok and tucked behind the oven.
    Also, I didn’t notice any fuse in place. There’s a cooker switch above the worktop and this feeds a connection point (no fuse) behind the oven and I have wired my 2.5mm cable straight into here - in the way the 6mm cable was connected.
     
  7. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    5,965
    Thanks Received:
    1,230
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a lot more pliable than 6 mm !!
    Heat resistant flex would be better ,but I doubt you will have any issue with T&E. Its not as though the oven gets moved very often.
     
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,034
    Thanks Received:
    4,151
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    But you said:
     
  9. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,975
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just realised that I hardwired it into the connection point but there is no discernible fuse.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,595
    Thanks Received:
    1,082
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have a 'connection point', easiest thing may be to replace that with a 13amp unswitched fused connection unit, and from there use some 1.5mm2 3core heat resistant flex.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,975
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Should the previous oven have had a fuse too?
    Also, is the size of the MCB significant?
     
  13. sxturbo

    sxturbo

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    3,626
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The old one was probably sufficient large enough that it's power draw was too large for a fuse connection so the protection was at the RCD

    You need a fuse now as the oven doesn't draw enough power so should it fail it will have no protection and is a safety issue.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,595
    Thanks Received:
    1,082
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Previous oven probably only needed the MCB.

    The size of the MCB is not really significant, as at a guess it something like 32 amp.

    Fitting the unswitched fused connection unit would be easier than finding and fitting a smaller MCB, and will satisfy the manufacturers instructions if we care, and also allow you use 1.5mm2 flex, which is possibly easier to obtain than 2.5mm2 flex (for a DIYer at least).
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,975
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can I replace this with a switch/socket that is fused to save me pulling out the oven again?
    upload_2020-12-18_8-59-34.png
     
  16. sxturbo

    sxturbo

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    3,626
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes, as long as the fuse is 13amp
     
  17. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,434
    Thanks Received:
    2,114
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Providing that you dont mind a length of cable permanently plugged in to the socket.

    Easier to put a fused connection unit in. This is (after all) what the instructions require

    Changing to a double socket is a lot of effort just to save you
    .
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page