cables behind skirtings

C

calumr135

Hi, this is just a questions for you electricians, I am doing some labouring on site where flats are being built and I have noticed the wiring in them are not under the floor the whole ring circuit has been run loosely where the skirting board is going to be fitted, the cables are sitting in gap in between the floor and the bottom of the plasterboard!
This can't be right surely? This isn't just in one flat they are seem to be wired this way.
I am not a qualified electrician hence the question but even I know this can't be right?
As these are new builds this work has presumably been done by "qualified electricians". I dare challenge them as I will probably be told to **** off.

I genuinely feel for you good guys if this is the competition you are up against, I know you good guys exist and I have seen good electrical work from real electricians who take pride in their work.

Should I step up or should I ignore this?
I appreciate some feedback on this
thanks

Sponsored Links
I am not a qualified electrician hence the question but even I know this can't be right? As these are new builds this work has presumably been done by "qualified electricians". I dare challenge them as I will probably be told to **** off.
It's certainly not right. Rather than 'challenging' too aggressively, you might perhaps consider 'expressing an interest' and indicating that you "didn't realise that such a routing of cables was allowed". You might still get told to **** off, but the risk would perhaps be a little lower!

Kind Regards, John

Not a safe zone.

safes zones are clearly defined areas where unprotected cables are allowed, thats not one of them.

I wouldn't volunteer for fitting the skirtings :)

are you sure the floor doesnt need screeding? -on the ground floor its ok to route cable around above the floor insulation before the floor screed goes down.

Sponsored Links