Cabling underneath Static caravan

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to put in an extra sockets in a static caravan. The easiest route is to run from an existing socket in the ring, through the floor, under the caravan and then up to the new socket position. Could anyone tell me whether the run under the caravan needs to be in SWA or can I use rubber flex as the run will effectively be under the floor - though the van is on a hill and one end is around 4ft off the floor and therefor accessable from outside by bending or by a dwarf? (will in done in 2.5mm)
Thanks

Sponsored Links
I would think you ought to have some sort of mechanical protection for the cable to prevent damage by prescence of flora or fauna.

Caravans are special installations which I have no experience of working on. I'm sure someone on here will know the conventional way this would normally be done.

You need to consider rodent attack but normally it is just wired in blue 2.5 flex. The RCD has to be twin pole and you can't use twin and earth and it does say flex so that also rules out SWA so although the PVC insulated & sheathed Controlflex Type 'SY' Steel Braided (coloured cores) could be used as that is considered flex.

Arctic flex is NEVER used for wiring to the fixed install of a caravan, static or otherwise.

I would use standard T+E and provide additional mechanical protection with MMT2 trunk or similar. If the static van is on a concrete hard standing, I would be inclined to simply clip direct to the timber joists that usually rest on the steel sub frame.

Some van manufacturers use FP200, so it may be prudent to extend with this.

Sponsored Links
I need to put in an extra sockets in a static caravan. The easiest route is to run from an existing socket in the ring, through the floor, under the caravan and then up to the new socket position.