Can I wire a plug socket from this?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by ukal, 18 Feb 2013.

  1. ukal

    ukal

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    **please note I am not going to undertake this work myself - just need to know if its possible before getting someone in**

    Hi all. We have a pantry in our kitchen that contains our fuse box(old school fuses with fuse wires). I would like to hide our fridgefreezer in here out of the way but there is no socket.

    There is however a smaller fuse box (pictured) connected to the main unit and from this runs a wire to another single fuse box (your typical fuse box that you pop the fuse out of to replace - currently with a 5amp fuse). From this the wire runs into a 3 terminal junction box and powers 2 external lights outside our side door.

    From doing some reading on this site I understand this is classed as a spur from the main ring circuit?

    Is this likely to be connected to my lighting circuit in the main fuse box (and how can I tell)? If so I assume this cannot be used.

    If not part of the lighting circuit, can the 5amp fuse be replaced with a 13amp and replace the junction box with a 4 terminal one and run the 4th terminal to a socket for my fridge?

    Or can that fuse box (in the pic - was this installed just for the outdoor lights by the looks of it?) below my main box be used to wire a socket?

    Cheers
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Adam_151

    Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,706
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is difficult to work out whats going on from what you describe, some more pictures may help.

    Though your installation does appear to be in need of a EICR (electrical installation condition report) carrying out as it appears a little questionable.

    Also note that in the picture you posted, there is rope seal on the door lid, you should bear in mind that it is highly likely that this has asbestos in, and there is likely a flashpad of similar material behind the fuse
     
  4. ukal

    ukal

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers Adam. We bought the house about 6 months ago and the electrics were never questioned. It's a 50's house.

    What pics would helpand whats a flashpad?

    Also can I just get rid of that seal from the door?

    Thanks again
     
  5. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would firstly do some IR testing on the circuit as looks like it may have had it's time.
    The socket would also require RCD protection or circuit with mechanical protection and socket engraved for use of fridge only.
    Personally I would remove it and replace with new unit.
     
  6. Adam_151

    Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,706
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We could do with a wider shot showing everything

    The rope seal is not critical to the operation of the unit, but i suggest you do not attempt to remove it as that is likely to release friable material into the wider environment.

    Flash pads are a small cloth like pad behind the fuse wire, placed there to catch the molten copper when the fuse blows and stop it leaving a conductive path on the the cermanic.

    Pictures: http://www.marstonenvironmentalservices.co.uk/pictures/gallery_1/item11/mid/0475.jpg

    http://www.marstonenvironmentalservices.co.uk/pictures/gallery_1/item61/thumb/DSCF2536.jpg

    http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i62/RFLighting/IMGP2897-1.jpg

    HSE have a guidence note on asbetos containing switch gear. http://www.hse.gov.uk/pubns/guidance/a33.pdf

    The correct action normally cosists of isolating, cutting the cables without pulling fuses, spraying PVA solution to trap any fibres and then double bagging in labelled sacks and disposing of
     
  7. ukal

    ukal

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for the replies.

    Here is a wider shot. I had to replace some fuse wire the other day and there was defo no asbestos pads there (cant really take one out not to show you). So I presume it was just that old fuse box with some.

    I understand it is still an old setup. Do you think I would need it updating and a new RCD installing before going ahead with anything such as fitting a new socket?

    Any idea on costs for an electrician to update this setup?

    Cheers again

     
  8. ricicle

    ricicle

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    6,343
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think it's more than likely that you will need some substantial cabling works or a complete rewire in the very near future so don't go decorating anytime soon.
    I would personally get an EICR done by a competant electrician.
     
  9. ukal

    ukal

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you know what the going rate is for an EICR roughly?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    £150-£200

    Where in Yorkshire are you?
    Is there an earth conductor?
     
  12. ukal

    ukal

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We're in Leeds.

    We defo have an earth in our socket circuit so I assume so?
     
  13. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That a shame, I'm working in Bingley, could have nipped in and took a gander!
    Never assume, that means bugga all! Is there an earth conductor connected to you incoming supply cable, that goes to the fuse box?
     
  14. ukal

    ukal

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Appreciate the thought though mate.

    So how can I tell.if I have an earth conductor? Looking below the fuse box I don't see anything thst resembles something like one. We have a Yorks Electric box with a cable coming from the floor but I presume that's the main feed

    How come you ask? Does having one mean the electrics aren't as old and dangerous as first thought?!
     
  15. Spark123

    Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,841
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If there is no earth to the consumer unit then it is dangerous. Time for an EICR I think
     
  16. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Particularly in an installation with no RCD.


    As a matter of some urgency.

    Ukal - where does that bare wire coming from the supply cable sheath go? That's what's supposed to provide your earth.....
     
  17. Scoby_Beasley

    Scoby_Beasley

    Joined:
    1 May 2003
    Messages:
    1,881
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks like it may terminate in a choc block inside
    main fuse (DNO's) case. (first picture).
     
Loading...

Share This Page