Can kitchen + Bathroom extraction go to same outlet?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to connect up my kitchen extraction to the outside. At the moment there is a pipe that comes from the bathroom and runs across the kitchen ceiling and out to the outside wall. Would it be ok to connect up the kitchen extraction to the same outlet?

Thanks

EDIT: I realise this might not be a strictly electrics question, would it be best asked elsewhere?

Sponsored Links
I'm not an HVAC expert, and I don't know were the best source on this site is, but an immediate concern I have is fumes from the toilet getting into the kitchen....

I assume the pipe from the bathroom is extract and not a soil vent pipe?

If it is an extract pipe extract then you can do what you want but you'll need to put backdraft flaps in the two sides. That is so bathroom smells and steam doesn't get to the kitchen and fried onion smells don't go to the bathroom.

Its preferable to have separate pipes, for obvious reasons.

Hi,

Thanks for the answers. The pipe from the bathroom is an extract pipe so should be ok if I use backdraft flaps?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
At a shop I used to work at, the toilet, canteen and office had identical extract fans in the ceilings, connected and vented together, presumably using backdraft flaps.

The office and canteen fans were never used (too loud) and when someone did a dirty big smelly **** in the toilet, you could smell it in the canteen. I wouldnt trust backdraft flaps.

I knew a guy once who was on a flight from Glasgow to Belfast. Quite a small plane.

He'd been out for a curry the night before, and on the flight it started making a bid for freedom. So he went off to the toilet.

When he came out, everyone else was glaring at him - several passengers were covering their noses with napkins, handkerchiefs etc, and one of the stewardesses was walking up and down the aisle spraying an air freshener.... :evil: