Cant get the staff

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a duty manager at a convenience store. I get nothing extra for being available on the end of a phone 24/7 for any problems the night supervisors have.

So i go out on my birthday. Saturday night. Had a cracking night. It happened to be two other staff members I was out with. First pub we were in, I get a text message off the supervisor on, saying she hasnt got enough staff, its saturday night, shes panicing. I calmly text back, telling her to phone someone else in (adding that im drunk (a lie) and cant cover it myself - its my birthday I have to have some leisure time!). She tells me she's tried everyone. I ask the two staff im sat in the pub with, no missed calls (she doesnt know they are with me). :cool:

I tell her to try certain staff again, offer double pay if she has to (saturday night is hard to cover and its only a few hours). So she texts back, tells me she got someone to cover. Great. I can enjoy my night. :D

So yesterday the same supervisor opened the shop and I was on the 2-10 afternoon shift. I walked in at 2, and what a bloody mess. I found her sat in the canteen with two other staff, she was leaned over a bucket, the two staff claiming to be on a break. I told her to go home, I didnt want to look at her she looked like death. Nothing had been done till I got in. I spent my whole 8 hour shift playing catch up, when I had other things to do.

I later heard off a customer, that the store didn't open until 7:20am (we open at 7), when the supervisor wandered in in the clothes she went out in last night. Yes, she went from the pub to the shop. So technically I guess she was under the influence and what I saw at 2pm was her hangover.

Heres the punchline, im leaving this store soon, and she wants my job. :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: