cat 5 or cat 6 for home and mixing them

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I used to be an electrician so I have cable knowledge but not much about network cable so I have read up on it and can see that the "e" means that the cable is screened.

Seeing that cat 6 is better than cat 5 and not a great difference in cost, I am thinking always buy the best i.e. like you would with speaker cable for instance. I realise I do not need cat 6 full potential for home but then that is not the reason you buy the best, I am thinking slightly better cable will insure the maximum potential of my home system but please correct me if I am wrong as I am a bit amateur with this stuff.

It seems that mostly the systems cat5 and cat6 are conpatable i.e. all plug into each other, except I have read about the difference in the gauge of the wire so using the wrong connectors will not fit as tightly or too tightly I assume the other way round.

I think the screened may be a good idea as it may potentially get close to either power cables or aerial cables that are already run although I will try to avoid this but again correct me if I am wrong.

I thought I would go to one of my electrical wholesalers I used to use and get some cat 6e cable and some plates that fit straight on back boxes in the wall and then fit the clip in modules into them to give a neat finish with sockets ready to plug into, only problem is it seems harder to get all the stuff in cat6e cat5, cat5e and some cat6 cables and parts are available but they do not seem to stock a full range of cat6e items if any in the electrical wholesalers I tried. I know I could look elsewhere but i am more interested in what I can do so here are my questions.

Can I run cat6e everywhere and then just use cat5e modules in the sockets for instance, I mean surely the important part of achieving cat6e standard is that the cable is the right type so surely a change of a module type at the connection point wont make a great difference?