cat insurance?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi i have never owned a cat but thinking of gettin one but worried of any future vet bills, so if i get insurance will this cover and bills or not, sorrry im new to pet owning, if so any recommendations?

Sponsored Links
After our previous cat needed an MRI scan costing £1000, which we paid for, we said that any future cats that we own will be insured.

The cat we have now is insured with RSPCA pet insurance. I think we pay about £8 a month for gold level, and if my memory serves me, we are covered for £5000 per condition, paying a £75 excess for each condition.

We made a claim for an operation 2 years ago, and he has recently been diagnosed with over-active thyroid and needs tablets costing £25 pm. This will be for life, and as he's about 11 yrs old (not sure - rescue cat??), could be a few years yet - hopefully.

It has definitely benefited us, and you could say that we have had our money's worth. You don't miss £8 per month, and it's good to know that whatever happens, and things will happen, you don't have to worry about the bills. Vets bill have gone up a lot in recent years, and just a blood test and consultation can come to over £100, even before you start to treat the problem. It soon mounts up, so wouldn't consider not being insured.

The little bugger is going in for dental work next week. Bang goes another £280. Not sure if the dental is covered though.

If you haven't got a cat yet, don't forget to have a look at your local rescue centres. We always take on older cats. There's loads that need a second chance. Kittens are fine, but can take more looking after, and aren't always ideal if you are out at work all day. Also, cat's under 2 years old and busy roads aren't a good idea.

Ian