Ceiling Light Socket

Sponsored Links
First of all you would need to understand how lighting circuits work - there are some diagrams in the reference sections.

Then you need to see what cables you have going into your light.

Then report back!

If its just the light you're removing, take the wires out of the light fitting, NOTING WHAT GOES WHERE, and replicate these connections (without the one to the light itself, of course) in a junction box (round thing with holes in the sides) in the loft, NOT CHOC BLOC.

crafty1289 said:
If its just the light you're removing, take the wires out of the light fitting, NOTING WHAT GOES WHERE, and replicate these connections (without the one to the light itself, of course) in a junction box (round thing with holes in the sides) in the loft, NOT CHOC BLOC.

if plastered over and there is a floor above, they should be crimped

Sponsored Links
Thank you for all your replies. Being a complete amateur I am struggling to understand some of the lingo!

To give a clearer picture the light I want to remove is one of three hanging ceiling lights. I only want two as I intend to use bigger lampshades. Therefore the switch does not need to be removed. As suggested I was hoping to be able to remove the light socket and shove the cable up in the ceiling void and plaster over the hole. It sounds as though this can be done if I 'crimp' the end of the cable, but I don't know what crimping is?!

Lastly, before undertaking this task is it sufficient to switch the electricity off at the mains or do I have to do anything else before taking off the light socket?

Any advice gratefully received.

Hi there!

If you have a modern consumer unit (the box with all the fuses in) you can turn off the individual electrical circuits e.g. the lighting circuits.
If not then turn the main power switch off on the consumer unit (usually a large red switch).