Central heating problem, with hot water

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a newbie here so bear with me. I have a Baxi Bermuda back boiler. I have hot water but no heating to radiators. I have a room thermostat in the lounge and a tank on the airing cupboard. This system have been working without any problems for the last 5 years. I think the problem is the Lifestyle mid position valve (based on what I have read here in the forum).

The valve does not move when heating is needed, stays on W position. The back boiler does not kick in. When I manually move the switch to M or H position I can get hot radiators so at the moment its on that position. If I let go, it will go back to W position (with or without power). When water heating is needed, boiler kicks in.

My questions are.

1. Am I right to say that the mid position valve is at fault?
2. If it is, is there any fuses or just part that is potentially the problem?
3. if i need to replace the whole valve, do i have to bleed the whole system? How to do it?
4. if I need to buy the valve, is it just a straight swap with the latest model? Can't find old model. I have the Lifestyle 679H340-3OLO (£55 + Vat)

Hope someone can help. thanks

Sponsored Links
It's possible a valve fault.

Other things to check is even though timer is displaying heating on it may not be switching actual power through to the heating or the room thermostat likewise.

If these are both sending power then more than likely the valve is to blame.

With central heating on you should get 240v on the white wire to the valve

Pretty much all mid positions are the same with the same wiring.

Blue and earth live and neutral
Brown HW off
White CH on
Orange pump and boiler

-------------------
Depends how confident you are. You either drain or bung your system. Draining is for wimps but if you don't know what your doing that is the safe option.

Although if your asking these questions it may be more advisable to get someone in