Central heating wiring

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by adwt2004, 15 Oct 2009.

  1. adwt2004

    adwt2004

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi, hope someone can help :(

    I have a problem whereby my central heating pump never stops running. I've done some research and found out that my boiler has been wired up as if it has a pump over run facility where the pumps runs afterwards to cool the boiler down. My boiler an Ideal icos doesn't have this facility so when it was installed it was done incorrectly.


    I have a Y plan system and links 4, 5, 6 have been cut to configure as per image above. I believe I need to re-link 6 because it shouldn't have been cut but not sure of the cables going into the wiring centre. see below



    Do I remove the switch live and pump live or leave in situ?

    If someone could advise I'd be greatful.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. kevplumb

    kevplumb

    Joined:
    18 May 2004
    Messages:
    23,712
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    depends where i get sent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    post it in plumbing

    afore you get big mouth and his rule book :LOL:
     
  4. adwt2004

    adwt2004

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did mate and no one seems to know about it unfortunately ;)
     
  5. electronicsuk

    electronicsuk

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Messages:
    3,316
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Presumably, re-instating link 6 should disable any pump overrun, although it's likely that all this does is link the pump L to boiler S/L. As you say the pump currently runs all the time, and all connections to the boiler appear to have been wired in, the installer has probably linked the boiler pump L to permanent L at the boiler. If you reconnect link 6 then you will also need to disconnect and make safe the boiler P/L connection at the wiring centre, otherwise it will still run all the time.

    As the links can only really be properly re-attached using a soldering iron, it may be easier for you to simply remove the wire from the pump L terminal and move it to the boiler S/L connection at the wiring centre, so you will then have two wires in the boiler S/L terminal. This should have the desired effect of making the pump run only when the system is calling for heat.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. D_Hailsham

    D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    10,587
    Thanks Received:
    1,344
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I assume the pump is external to the boiler.

    Remake Link L6

    Connect the pump to the pump terminals in the wiring centre.
    Remove the wire connected to boiler P/L in wiring centre and disconnect the other end.
    Leave the other boiler connections.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. adwt2004

    adwt2004

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, the pump is already connected to the pump terminals in the wiring centre. LNE.

    I'll look at remaking link 6 and removing the boiler pump live. I'm also going to take a look at electronicsuk's post as that seems very clever too.

    Thanks guys for your help, time to play with it i guess :)
     
  8. bengasman

    bengasman

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2005
    Messages:
    34,181
    Thanks Received:
    3,124
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are sure your boiler does not need an overrun, why don't you connect the pump over the boiler connections in the wiring centre? Lot easier than trying to alter it.
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. adwt2004

    adwt2004

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so instead of having the pump wired into the pump section on the wiring centre where do i connect the wires with regards to my first image? (just in the L N and E of the actual boiler section so two cables in each terminal?)

    Interesting idea and something i didn't think of ;)
     
  11. bengasman

    bengasman

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2005
    Messages:
    34,181
    Thanks Received:
    3,124
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just combine pump and boiler wires, it's probably how the boiler diagram does it.
     
  12. gavinda

    gavinda

    Joined:
    20 May 2006
    Messages:
    1,241
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just throwing in my 2p. dump the pcb wiring centre and rewire it in a proper wiring centre. more reliable and easier to trace .
     
  13. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,039
    Thanks Received:
    4,595
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Welcome back Gasvinder.

    I am surprised to hear that the Icos does not have a pump over run facility whereas the combi versions did.

    Tony
     
  14. gavinda

    gavinda

    Joined:
    20 May 2006
    Messages:
    1,241
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi agile :LOL: keep getting distracted by other forums :LOL: .


    methinks theres quite a few boilers without pump overruns these days. potterton crap comes to mind. weve been fitting a lot of overrun timers due to this issue.
     
  15. electronicsuk

    electronicsuk

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Messages:
    3,316
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just follow the instructions as per my first post. There's no need to touch the live or earth connections to the pump as they will all be tied together in the wiring centre. If you don't want to remake link 6 then all you need to do is move pump L to boiler S/L, no other work required.
     
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page