1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Changing thermostat to wireless

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by olly330, 27 Feb 2018.

  1. olly330

    olly330

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bought a house recently and I am renovating it at the moment.
    It has a gloworm 24cxi combi boiler with a british gas on/off clock and a separate wired thermostat, im looking to upgrade it to a wireless stat.

    Does anyone know if a honeywell DT9E like this will work with this boiler:
    [​IMG]

    The current system:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Also, out of interest, is this combi decent? It seems to be working ok, no strange noises and radiators get fairly hot. We are upgrading all radiators to type 22's, and adding a combi fed thermosatic shower in the new bathroom. I guess I will soon find out, would it be a straight swap for a new combi any nothing complicated from the looks of things? I have heard the heatline's (made by vailant) are decent and can be had for about £500 plus a days labour for a gas fitter I would guess at.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,546
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Honeywell DT92E will work with a Glow Worm cxi.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. olly330

    olly330

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. Do I need a new clock or can the new wireless thermostat be wired to that existing british gas clock?
     
  5. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,546
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The DT92e is just a thermostat, so yes you would need to have an additional timeswitch.

    Wireless thermostats available that do have inbuilt time control, eliminating the need for a separate timeswitch.
     
  6. olly330

    olly330

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Stem, off the top of your head do you know a make/model of clock that would work?

    Or a wireless thermostat with a built in timer that would work?

    Really appreciate it as im completely lost and need to get them before the electrician arrives.
     
  7. olly330

    olly330

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im guessing this is the type of part I need:
    [​IMG]

    Wowzers, this is a more expensive excercise than i thought it would be.

    I try and find a stat with built in timer and see if its any cheaper.
     
  8. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,546
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How about a Honeywell CM929 comes with a BDR91 receiver, and will take care of time and temperature control.

    Salus do a cheaper version a RT500RF some have reported reliability issues with them but I've installed a few without problems. However, you generally get what you pay for.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. olly330

    olly330

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you mean to say the Honeywell CM927 as I couldnt find the CM929 anywhere:

    [​IMG]



    And is this the correct Salus one:

    [​IMG]

    I had a salus my previous property, didn't give me any problems in about 5 years apart from the buttons being a bit sticky after a while but that was minor. Big saving if I go for a Salus then. Thanks again.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,546
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes sorry, bit of a typo there, the link didn't work either, but you found it OK.

    The key is that wireless thermostats that include time control are referred to as 'programmable wireless thermostats' as opposed to just 'wireless thermostats'
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. olly330

    olly330

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Excellent mate, good start to the morning ticking this off my list.
     
  13. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,546
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Salus RT500RF controlling the heating in my conservatory, been in for about 3 years without any problems, but the thermostat is located quite close to the receiver.

    If you do go for the Salus, I would recommend that you change its RF address code from the factory setting. As these thermostats are quite popular because of their price I have found two instances where the thermostat in one property was also controlling the heating in the property next door because both were still on the original factory RF address code setting.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. olly330

    olly330

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,546
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've not installed one, but it will be do the job and it has some additional features. Hopefully it will be easier to operate too, the old one wasn't the easiest to programme.
     
  16. olly330

    olly330

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks mate, Ill try it and report back once fitted and running.
     
  17. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    12,753
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do you want a wireless stat? Wired ones are much more reliable as they can't have their communications interrupted, don't need the batteries changing and are just as energy saving as their wireless counterparts.

    I'd rather have a slightly old GlowWorm cxi (also part of Vaillant Group) than a new Heatline. The only thing to note is that a 24kW like yours is the least powerful combi out there, so your hot water performance will not be great. If you're happy with current performance then great...if you want a higher hot water flow rate (and your mains can handle it) then you'll be needing a higher output boiler.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page