Choosing New Laptop

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Mrs Secure is desperate for a replacement computer now. Instead of a tower, she wants laptop.

I have searched here for advice, but most will be out of date now.

What do you recommend in the £3/400 range?

She won't be doing gaming or handling large quantities of photo files.

Built-in wireless and long battery life would be good and I guess it would also be good to have an up-to-date chipset?

What about this:

http://www.ebuyer.com/341125-fujitsu-lifebook-ah530-laptop-vfy-ah530mp505gb

Thanks in advance for advice.

Sponsored Links
Avoid Asus laptops like the plague. Customer support is useless and any faults with manufacturing are played down. ;) ;)

Yeah, I got that from an anonymous comment on ebuyer:

This laptop is good value of money in terms of specs, but I was astonished by how much cr*pware comes pre loaded on it. I'm an IT professional and I'm having trouble believing that soo much pointless bloatware could possibly be on a brand new laptop. I'm uninsalling them one by one but there literally must be over 100 bits of nonsense on here. That's no hyperbole, I reckon if I sat and counted I would get to over 100, it's going to take ages to get it all off.
It's like a trouble user's laptop after 2-3 year of installing junk - and this is brand new straight out of the box.

It's making me reconsider buying Asus in the future if this is the way they are heading.

I would give it five stars without all the cr*p but with 2-3 hours of uninstalling 3 is the most I can give it.

At that price point you could get a reasonable, if unspectacular DELL, they're ok, for most things.

Sponsored Links
go to comet and have a look,get the manager and say HOW much for cash.
go for an i5 but im thinking might be a bit more on your budget.