Coal Boiler overheats the cylinder

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, i have a coal fired central heating system with grant hydrograte back boiler, recently i had to renew hot water cylinder and immersion stat to modern one,problem the stat keeps tripping as the coal fire is heating the water in the cylinder beyond the the stats cut off and you only find this out when you go to use the immersion heater , thanks

Sponsored Links
I expect it is the Immersion Heater Overheat stat you are thinking of, not the Cylinder Stat

Do you have a bathroom radiator or towel rail to help use the excess heat?

There is a thing called a Cyltrol that you can use to stop gravity circulation to a cylinder once it is hot, but controlling circulation of a coal boiler is more complex as they can overheat badly if circulation is stopped. I have no recent experience of solid fuel boilers, but I expect someone else will be along in a minute :)

thanks john d, my brother is a plumber and my pal is a sparkie and iam a slater/ fireplace installer but between us we are struggling to come up with an answer apart from getting an old stat which seem hard to source ,there is 7 radiators and a heated towel rail run of the system

is it a pumped system? maybe you could put a valve on the cylinder supply to divert the flow to a large radiator as a heat-sink when the cyl is up to temp? It will need more than a towel rail. but with solid fuel I understand you must always have an open pipe for the heat to escape. Does the solid-fuel boiler have a thermostat to damp down the fire? the big problem is preventing the boiler overheating if the heat has nowhere to go. Not my area.

Sponsored Links