Compression or capillary joints

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hope there's a plumbing expert out there who can help!

I've heard that compression joints shouldn't be used underneath floorboards or where they can't be reached easily as they aren't as reliable as capillary joints. Is this true?

I've used loads of compression joints fitting a new bath but am a bit worried I should have used soldered capillary joints. Anyone, any ideas?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert but personally prefer capillary over compression especially in those tight corners you cant quite get to and tighten the comp nuts up enough.
Having said that if you can do a comp up tight enough you shouldnt have problems.

sorry if you know this. but you should clean the outside of the pipe and the inside of the joint with wire wool, then smear flux on it first , put joint and pipe together and heat with blowtorch

Sponsored Links
Thanks guys...do compression joints 'deteriorate' after a while or is that just a myth?

never had one go, they have been known to come ever so slightly loose, but its out with the spanners to tighten them up, but thats one thing you can't do with soldered joints, you have to drain the whole lot to re solder them

The only downside I know of with comp joints is if you need to remove one (say, changing a sink) you can't get the olive off and the pipe needs to be replaced. BUT If this happens, you get some hemp (unravelled string), wrap it round like you would p.t.f.e. tape on the screw threads and then put GLOSS/OIL BASED paint on it, tighten up and give it half an hour. Believe me, it works.

yes you can take the olive off, put a junior hacksaw through it, fiddley but it can be done

The biggest problem with compression joints is when it's overtighten.If you're worried then put some White Halk compound on the olive ring and just hand tight the nut.They are 100% reliable if done correctly.