Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Im an electrician trying to connect Hive to my Baxi solo 2PF boiler but the hive diagrams dont match the available terminals and I dont understand enough about boilers to chance guessing at it and frying the mother board.

Please help! (Diagrams and boiler terminals attatched)

Attachments

• 785c731e77e5cf8dfc620cccfe259429.png
    785c731e77e5cf8dfc620cccfe259429.png
    388.6 KB · Views: 36
  • Screenshot_20240216_214304_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20240216_214304_Gallery.jpg
    127.7 KB · Views: 31
Sponsored Links
The Hive wouldn’t get wired at the boiler. You need the dual channel Hive, wire it in at the wiring center or swap on the backplate of existing programmer. What system do you have?

As @CBW says, the Hive should be connected elsewhere.

However, as an electrician, I hope you will be tidying up those existing connections.
There is a good deal of bare wire and loose strands showing, the cables should have cable grips, and the blue wire used as the pumps switched live should be oversleeved in brown, as a minimum.
Hopefully the pump will be provided with a suitable earth connection from the wiring centre, because it isn't getting one from that cable!
Screenshot_20240216-235637_Adobe Acrobat.jpg

• Thanks
Reactions: CBW
Thanks for the replies guys, there were 2 x 3 cores in the wall at the existing stat in the adjacent utility room, which was melted by by an air fryer accident. I stripped the stat off and and connector blocked them to provide a basic live neutral and Earth in my boiler cupboard which Ive fitted a fused spur to. Could that have been your wiring centre?

I should point out that the connections in the photo I also completely removed, they were joined to the exisiting stat system in the adjacent utility room via a mash of connector blocks and a half arsed bashed up stat back plate, the core grips I removed for clarity.

Is there another component of this boiler in the house im not aware off?