Connector for gas hose to cooker

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a new gas cooker requiring installation. Don't worry I won't be attempting any gas cooker installation myself but I'm expected to supply the parts and a Gas Safe engineer will be doing the rest for free (long story). It won't be possible to consult the engineer, I just have to figure out the parts myself.

My gas cooker pipe is already in place with a bayonet fitting, and I've got the standard cooker hose plus safety chain with fittings. The only thing I'm not sure about is which connector to purchase to connect the hose to the cooker. My cooker itself has a flanged connection with a 1/2" female back nut. After a bit of research I think I need a a converter from 1/2" female to 1/2" parallel male (iron elbow) and a washer to seal the join, would that be right?

Trouble is I can't seem to find an iron elbow with a male BSPP online - they all seem to be tapered. Am I barking up the wrong tree? I'm no expert so would appreciate being pointed in the right direction, in fact links to products would be great. I assume the engineer would have washers but if he doesn't, it sounds silly but what washer do I need to get, would it be something like this:

http://www.partridgeshadleigh.co.uk...-p-4941.html?zenid=8cipeio8dgd2m7tbrbnpbkh1n2

Thanks if you can help.

Sponsored Links
Installed for free but have to work the parts out yourself?!

Other one has bells on.

Gas Engineer would do job start to finish and just charge you for the
parts if they were doing it for free.

Don't worry yourself too much about it , whatever fittings you are short of i'm sure the guy fitting the cooker will have them on the van.