1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Consumer Unit - Dual RCD Wiring from Isolator

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by TonyJr, 25 Jun 2008.

  1. TonyJr

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Hello,

    I have been putting together the new consumer unit for my house to make sure it's all OK before I fit it in. With the new regulations, I am going to be installing a Dual RCD CU. This consumer unit has two separate neutral wiring blocks, the same as a normal split way CU. This is where I have got a bit stuck. Do the two RCDs require their own neutral wiring block apart from each other (as i have wired in the pic attached), or can they both be on the same one... OR shall I stick the connecting U copper bar back in between them? There are going to be no RCD unprotected devices in here.

    The reason I am stuck is that I don't know if one RCD will interfere with the other on the Neutral if one was to trip. Is it OK for them both to share a common Neutral?

    Note the wiring isn't finished in the picture yet - I have connected the live from the isolator to the inputs of each RDC and the Neutral outputs of each RCD to an individual Neutral wiring block.

    Thaks in advance for your help and advice!

    Cheers,

    Tony
     
  2. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,935
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The neutrals out from the two RCDs must be kept seperate.
     
  3. TonyJr

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you plugwash :)
     
  4. Pens

    Joined:
    17 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    2,439
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Judging by your post you seem a bit confused so just to add, you will need to cut the copper bus bar.

    The first piece needs to be 8 prongs long and the second piece needs to be 4 prongs long.

    The first piece goes in the live out on the bottom of the 1st RCD and the 7 MCB's to the left.

    The second piece goes in the live out of the bottom of the second RCD and the 3 MCB's to the left.
     
  5. TonyJr

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Pensdown for the heads up. I think I forgot to take it out before doing the photo. I better not do that when I am installing it! :eek:
     
  6. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    31,972
    Thanks Received:
    921
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to eliminate any confusion, he means the piece underneath the mcb's in your picture.
     
  7. Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,840
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I take it you know that replacing a consumer unit is notifiable to your LABC under part P of the building regulations? Do you know how to do the required testing to ensure all connected circuits are safe, recording the results on the correct forms?
     
  8. oharaf

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    1,490
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It might be the camera angle but the unit already appears to be smiling along the top edge!!!
     
  9. Chri5

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    4,289
    Thanks Received:
    391
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm worried, are you qualified- just that the question is so basic I find it hard to fathom why a person with qualification would ask.

    :eek:
     
  10. Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,840
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was thinking along the same lines ;)
     
  11. Fuseblower

    Joined:
    13 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I notice that the Neutral links from the Incomer main switch load side to the two RCD Neutral supply terminals are also missing.
    An other oversight I presume? :?:
     
  12. bongos

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,070
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also I think the lighting/ring final circuits be mixed between the two rcd's - to avoid you losing all lighting together if that side develops a fault.

    Upstairs lights on one rcd with downstairs rfc's and downstairs lighting with upstairs rfc's.
     
  13. Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    17,830
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your basic problem is that the board you have is not an MK 17th edition board. its a 16th edition board.

    In the 17ED boards there are three neutral busbars. One for the supply to the RCDs (and high integrity RCBOs) , and two longer ones for the two neutrals from the RCDs.

    Here's a pic

    [​IMG]

    I do share the others concern about your ability to do this though....
     
  14. GaryMo

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,114
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. Cremeegg

    Joined:
    16 Apr 2007
    Messages:
    532
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm all for giving people help but this is one of those potentially dangerous posts where we shouldn't.

    This is fundamental stuff. How is this guy ever going to connect it up - by working live no doubt. Then presumably as he can't even work out how to design a CU there wont be any testing other than a functional test. Not a meter in sight.

    Hope he's well insured - actually I don't because its people like him that put our premiums up.
     
Loading...

Share This Page