1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Control on boiler to reduce output?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by reg091, 10 Dec 2018.

  1. reg091

    reg091

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am looking at adding some radiators so calculated that my existing rads come to 15.4Kw and my boiler (WB Greenstar 24i)has a 24Kw output.

    So far so good, but I have read that boiler output is limited on installation to match the needed output. How?

    I mailed Worcester Bosch who replied that the control on the front does this. Well, I know that sets the desired output temperature but is that the same thing?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Crofton Gas

    Crofton Gas

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2017
    Messages:
    118
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Download the installation manual, will tell you all you need to know. Most installers don't bother rating boiler down, so you'll probably find its factory set to highest output, unless it was done right.
     
  4. reg091

    reg091

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So the advice from WB was b#llocks? The temperature control knob is not what sets output?
     
  5. Crofton Gas

    Crofton Gas

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2017
    Messages:
    118
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The knob on the front controls the temperature of the primary water (water going around rads)
     
  6. reg091

    reg091

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I know that, which is what puzzles me by the WB advice that essentially says if you add more radiators you need to turn the water temperature up! This struck me as complete cr#p!

    My question is: do modern condensing boilers have an output setting that is set according to the size of the installation, and is therefore something I need to look at when adding rads?
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. MikeCip

    MikeCip

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    6,245
    Thanks Received:
    1,401
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The WB Cdi you can adjust the heating output. But that is done via the parameter settings.
     
  9. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    10,973
    Thanks Received:
    2,148
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good quality ones do. Yours doesn't.
     
  10. reg091

    reg091

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Excellent, thanks.
     
  11. fixitflav

    fixitflav

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2018
    Messages:
    650
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, that only sets the flow temperature. The maximum output is adjusted by varying the gas input, via the parameter settings. When the flow reaches the control knob setting the gas input is reduced (on a modulating burner, gas stops if non-modulating), unless the room-stat temperature is reached first, when everything stops. If the boiler output is increased, that point is reached earlier, that's all.
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page