Corgi Reg.

Bas

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Has anyone got any experience of becoming Corgi reg to work on domestic gas installations? I'd like to become registered but do not have relevant experience and am self employed ie unable to have "on the job" training? The various web sites I have visited seem to make it deliberatly difficult to understand the process. Advice much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
good point but i was hoping to get some advice from a someone who had done it. I've finally learnt to ask before leaping!

Corgi changed their rules last year so now you need to work with a corgi registered plumber for a certain length of time (they give you examples of what experience they will accept on their website) to get practical experience of boilers. My aim is to be a corgi registered plumber but I am a mere plumbing student on a one day a week course and am not working with a plumber.

In the old days parents of youngsters paid employers to take their children on as apprentices and the apprentices were given food and lodging by their employers. So I'm thinking about paying a corgi registered plumber £100 a week to take me on as an apprentice for a year while I learn the theory by myself. Yes that will cost me £5000 a year but I have a weekend job which will pay my bills and I'm thinking that it will be financially worthwhile in the long term. An Corgi registered plumbers here who would take on an apprentice if he paid you £100 a week?

Pete

Sponsored Links
Why on earth would you want to pay someone to give you experience in gas, with your college fees and paying someone for a year to gain experience, when you qualify it will be a while before you recoup your costs before you can start earning a living, believe me plumbers money is not that high, is it really worth the outlay

How much experience do you have to show, where are you based, I am Corgi registered and I have work on with condensing boiler installations mostly new build.

Hi billy bob,