Creating a flat roof

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

ive got a horrible flat roof, and wanted to improve it with potted plants.

I want to install either a Juliette balcony or doors that open out onto it.

what are the options available to me to make this? Are there several ‘grades’ that one can make or apply to planners to make?

I’ve got no experience of this sorry!! Would be grateful for advice please.

mark

Sponsored Links
1. As above, your flat roof is unlikely to be capable of taking the normal domestic loading required by Building Regs.

2. You would need planning permission, which is unlikely to tbe granted unless you are in a position where neighbours will not be overlooked.

Sponsored Links
What’s horrible about it it? Just the look of it or are there currently some maintenance issues? Your cheaper and best option would be to deal with the appearance/maintenance issues and look to install a Juliet balcony which can be carried out under PD.

What’s horrible about it it? Just the look of it or are there currently some maintenance issues? Your cheaper and best option would be to deal with the appearance/maintenance issues and look to install a Juliet balcony which can be carried out under PD.

it’s flat and black!

whars the legality of sitting pots on it?

ive got a horrible flat roof, and wanted to improve it with potted plants
LOL. No chance of that. Of all the improvements possible, potted plants just ain't on the list!

But there is nothing stopping you changing the window for a door

LOL. No chance of that. Of all the improvements possible, potted plants just ain't on the list!

But there is nothing stopping you changing the window for a door

AY? non comprendo Senor!

TBH I’m an extremely keen gardener with an interest in arid plants... would be nice as I look out the Juliette on a Sunday morning, looking at A few pot plants!!!! Is it legal to put them in the flat roof?

Is it legal to put them in the flat roof?