Danesmoor Capacitor Removal

Joined
21 Feb 2007
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Location
Tyne and Wear
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone give advice on how to get this capacitor out.
How does the black plastic cap come off and how do people get into where the nut is on the capacitor thread?

Thanks all
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200301_130833.jpg
    IMG_20200301_130833.jpg
    239.3 KB · Views: 306
Sponsored Links
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
23,624
Reaction score
4,698
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
Undo the nut with either a box spanner or a socket.....the black cap covers the electrical connections which may be sealed or push on.
John :)
 
Joined
21 Feb 2007
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Location
Tyne and Wear
Country
United Kingdom
Can't believe I didn't think to try a socket set haha
Does it look normal to have the brown stuff in the picture appearing to be leaking out?

Any advice on selecting its replacement. I know it needs to be 3UF or something. Thx
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200301_140501.jpg
    IMG_20200301_140501.jpg
    181.5 KB · Views: 291
Joined
21 Feb 2007
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Location
Tyne and Wear
Country
United Kingdom
All the writing on the side of the capacitor has faded. I know it's for a AEG Motor eb 95c28/2 70w.

I think it's manufacturer part no. 87161566650 but not sure how you tell for sure. Only thing sites seem to confirm is its 3UF and for AEG motors.

I hope it's just the capacitor that has gone as the motor looks hard to source and nearly 200 quid. Can only find a 90w too but maybe that will do.
 
Last edited:
Joined
21 Feb 2007
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Location
Tyne and Wear
Country
United Kingdom
Also does anyone think the cheaper option from amazon would be a bad idea?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200301_153137_com.amazon.mShop.android.shopping.jpg
    Screenshot_20200301_153137_com.amazon.mShop.android.shopping.jpg
    99.6 KB · Views: 59
Sponsored Links
Joined
21 Feb 2007
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Location
Tyne and Wear
Country
United Kingdom
Check out www.hwos.co.uk for what you need....the capacitor may be C107/9 and the motor may be B2402.
John :)
Thanks John. That's a good suggestion and within the North east for me.
It's a bit of a punt though isn't it. What's the damage if this isn't quite right? Will it just not power up or could it cause damage to the boiler or motor etc. Cheers
 
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
23,624
Reaction score
4,698
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
Capacitor wise, so long as the uf is the same and likewise the working voltage, it will work fine.
Burner caps are often metal though which may help with the temperatures they encounter.
To test the motor on the bench, connect 250v to it and switch on.....if the cap is no good the motor wont know which way to spin, and you can spin the spindle yourself.
Hwos are in Bishop Auckland but Border heating may be nearer at Kingston Park.....he’s expensive though.
Hrpc near Byker is another one.
John :)
 
Joined
7 Feb 2008
Messages
23,624
Reaction score
4,698
Location
Northumberland
Country
United Kingdom
I’m not sure when they stopped using this burner but there are loads about.....both balanced flue and room air models have been used on this boiler.
This one runs at 100 psi pump pressure and use a solid nozzle (0.50 S) with a CO2 level of 10.5 if I remember.
The oil pump has a cartridge type filter, under an allen screw on the side.
John :)
 
Sponsored Links
Top