1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Dishwasher - socket and isolator

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by OldKettle, 18 May 2019.

  1. OldKettle

    OldKettle

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2017
    Messages:
    259
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,
    I need to install a dishwasher in a location next to a sink, where there is currently no power.

    I had intended to spur off from the existing ring main and add an isolator somewhere above the kitchen worktop, but with no surface cabling above the worktop.

    I had originally intended to put a standard control switch above the worktop, with a socket under the counter.

    I notice that you can buy a switch designed for a dishwasher, such as this

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    It seems designed to have the dishwasher wired directly into it, which is not what I am after (because I
    don't want cabling above the worktop)

    Can I use this as a standard control switch and just have a chased cable running from it, to an unswitched socket under the counter?
     
  2. donrkebab

    donrkebab

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    507
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, you can.
     
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,531
    Thanks Received:
    3,179
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok.

    What do you mean by a standard control switch?

    It's not designed for a dishwasher; it just has 'dishwasher' written on it.
    It is exactly the same as one with 'washing machine' written on it or nothing at all.

    I don't know what you mean. The DW wouldn't work if not wired directly into it, would it?

    You will have to have cabling above the worktop (visible or buried) if that is where the ring circuit is to be accessed.

    You can have a 20A switch without a fuse, if that is what you mean but you don't have to.

    Of course but that has nothing to do with whether you have a switch, what kind it is or you don't have one at all.

    Also, it is immaterial whether the socket is switched or not.
     
    Last edited: 18 May 2019
  4. OldKettle

    OldKettle

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2017
    Messages:
    259
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks to both of you.

    Just to clarify my original rambling question, I really just wanted to check that I could use that rather than something like this

    [​IMG]

    sounds like I can and, as EFL points out, it simply has Dishwasher written on it :)

    As the "Dishwasher" one seems designed to accommodate a flex direct to the appliance, I just wanted to check that there was no reason not to run 2.5mm T&E instead, down to a socket.

    As EFL says, there will be cabling above the worktop, but I plan to chase that it the wall. I should have clarified that I didn't want a flex or visible cable (so that the worktop has no gaps or holes in it).
     
  5. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,583
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's just an optional feature, this little bit of plastic needs breaking off to convert that into a 'flex outlet'...

    Untitled.jpg

    So yes, without breaking that off, it can be used 'normally' for concealed cables down the wall.
     
  6. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    4,987
    Thanks Received:
    354
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need to have an isolator above the worktop at all. If you have one best not to have one with a neon glaring out at you all day. After a few years it will go black anyway.

    Pulling the dishwasher plug is the best isolation possible. Yes you have to pull the machine out, but lets face it the only time you need to isolate it is when it goes faulty ahen you will want to pull it out anyway.
     
  7. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    59,607
    Thanks Received:
    3,070
    Location:
    21st Century
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    that's very much up to the user's opinion.

    I see the neon in my boiler switch went dull about 25 years after the house was built.

    new switches have LEDs with a longer anticipated life.
     
  8. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,785
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If he wants one, he may have one.

    If he wants one with a neon, he may have one.

    If he thinks he has to have one, he has been misinformed.
     
  9. RichA

    RichA

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    634
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Surrey Hills
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you install a socket in one of the cupboards either side?
     
Loading...

Share This Page