diyer Tiling Bathroom - Which BAL adhesive etc ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Bathroom inc tile around a bath with a shower on the wall.

Walls 10 Sq Meters
Ceramic Wall tiles - 250x330mm – Thickness 7mm

Previously tiled, all tiles removed and the high bits of adhesive removed.

Plasterboard – (Egg box stuff)

Had a couple of tillers round to quote and they said would be ok to tile on. Was going to get a tiller in to do the job but unfortunately cannot afford that now.

I have done very little tiling before so classed as total newbie, any help appreciated.

I have read the sticky and look to purchase the materials soon but a few questions still

2 X Bal White Star 10ltr – Ready mixed. £ 23.72 inc vat
Grout - Bal Superflex 3.5kg
8mm or 10mm notch size ?
Spacer Size 2 mm or 3 mm?

Floor 3 Sq Meters
Ceramic Floor tiles - 330x330mm - Thickness 7mm.

The floor is of a sound quality, still need to check levels.
Concrete floor with Asphalt over the top, (same in all rooms of bungalow)

Bal Adhesive – Which one ? Rapidset or Rapidset Flexible
Grout Superflex Wide Joint 3.5kg ?
Spacer Size – 4mm ?

I am working to a budget so don’t want to go overboard on materials but do want to use BAL, as reputable supplier.

After more reading it looks like I am going to need to get a Bal Waterproof Shower Kit

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7q3EMmV-XXA&feature=player_embedded

Sponsored Links
You also need to fill any hollows or board damage but don’t use plaster.

You should be OK with tile weight over plaster which with 7mm thick tiles will come in at less than 20 kg/sqm but no experience of what “egg box walls” will support; should be OK but might be worth checking out.

Had a couple of tillers round to quote and they said would be ok to tile on.
If they’ve seen it then probably OK.

2 X Bal White Star 10ltr – Ready mixed.