• No

Votes: 30 62.5%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
N

NoHounds

YES
NO

this was supposed to be a poll but i just released i can only make one on general discussion :rolleyes:

Sponsored Links
No

And don't ban chocolate either, otherwise I would be in the sh1t for a few days each month

No,
and don't ban chocolate because I would be a crazy barsteward permanently!
:LOL: :LOL:

Sponsored Links
Voted yes. It's gone completely overboard.

At this rate the 18th edition will be demanding RCD protection for every circuit at origin, no exceptions.

I bet there were loads of people refusing to RCD protect sockets likely to supply equipment for use outdoors back in 1992, as it was pointless and overkill.

I am NOT an electrician but have a background of 40 years in the electrical/electronics industry.
A 30 ma RCD is designed to protect people from death by elecrocution?
To trip a 30ma RCD would take in theory 8K oms from 240 volts to a perfect earth?
If I measure the resistance of my body ( or any other person for that matter), NOT with a 500 volt megger of course, I have a hard time getting it to read less than 800K ( using a fluke 32 Multimeter :) )
that would give by calculation only .3 ma .. Am I missing something ?

The best thing in the 17th, was the compulsion to fit an RCD on the shower circuit - sanity has prevailed here, compared with the 16th edition! :LOL: :LOL: :LOL:

I am NOT an electrician but have a background of 40 years in the electrical/electronics industry.
A 30 ma RCD is designed to protect people from death by elecrocution?
To trip a 30ma RCD would take in theory 8K oms from 240 volts to a perfect earth?
If I measure the resistance of my body ( or any other person for that matter), NOT with a 500 volt megger of course, I have a hard time getting it to read less than 800K ( using a fluke 32 Multimeter :) )
that would give by calculation only .3 ma .. Am I missing something ?