Does Armoured Cable being buried in ground need conduit

Joined
11 Jan 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

When burying armoured cable in the ground does it have to go in conduit? if it isn't in conduit will it corrode?

Mark
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
18 Nov 2008
Messages
1,540
Reaction score
199
Location
Surrey
Country
United Kingdom
Straight into the ground - normally 14 to 20 inches with Warning tape above it. It has a layer of PVC so won't corrode. If it's being terminated outdoors you'll need external SWA Glands which seal around the cable to prevent water ingress.
 
Last edited:
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
10,742
Reaction score
1,450
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

When burying armoured cable in the ground does it have to go in conduit? if it isn't in conduit will it corrode?

Mark

You can bury it direct in the ground, but you must ensure there are no stones near or in contact with it.
 
Joined
20 Aug 2009
Messages
9,280
Reaction score
1,191
Location
Dorset
Country
United Kingdom
No requirement whatsoever to use conduit or ducting.

But putting it in ducting could be extremely useful in the future, should the cable get damaged or needs replacing or alterations are made.
 
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Joined
11 Jan 2013
Messages
5,225
Reaction score
1,098
Location
Durham
Country
United Kingdom
There's a specification somewhere for buried cables- short version, 50mm sand, cables/ducts, 50mm sand, marker tape, hard layer (I usually use bricks or bits of concrete, anything that will alert someone digging that there's something under there), marker tape, backfill.
 
Joined
28 Jul 2009
Messages
6,372
Reaction score
507
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
There's a specification somewhere for buried cables- short version, 50mm sand, cables/ducts, 50mm sand, marker tape, hard layer (I usually use bricks or bits of concrete, anything that will alert someone digging that there's something under there), marker tape, backfill.
That is certainly what I'd expect and do...

However on building sites these days... One I saw just a few weeks ago, mains power, gas, water, drainpipe & cables for electric gates and drive lights laying on the churned up mud, assorted builders rubble like broken bricks and block & scrap concrete etc dumped on top and driven over/levelled by JCB, then ballast and block paving. Whole drive about 3x5m done in 2 hours.

Class job!

I regretted not taking pics for the unfortunate buyer
 
Joined
16 Jun 2006
Messages
6,034
Reaction score
1,062
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
No requirement whatsoever to use conduit or ducting.

But putting it in ducting could be extremely useful in the future, should the cable get damaged or needs replacing or alterations are made.

Not disagreeing with you but I do recall an electrician telling me that he doesn't like using ducting if there is a risk of it filling with water.
 
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,210
Reaction score
3,365
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Not disagreeing with you but I do recall an electrician telling me that he doesn't like using ducting if there is a risk of it filling with water.
It 'filling with water' would be no problem - and certainly no worse than burying the SWA directly in (quite possibly sodden) soil.

Kind Regards, John
 
Sponsored Links
Top