Help with armoured conduit

Joined
4 Jan 2006
Messages
372
Reaction score
5
Location
Devon
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have been advised to protect some 240v mains cable with armoured conduit in a workshop to avoid damage to the cable and potential electric shock.

The question is what size of conduit do I need and what other fittings would be required.

We have a bench drill and a hobby lathe, they are hard wired into switched sockets, so I am not sure how to fix the conduit at either end?

It's either armoured conduit or change the cable to armoured cable, however a sparky mate of mine says the conduit should do the trick.

Any advice would be most welcomed.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
27 Jan 2008
Messages
19,492
Reaction score
1,851
Location
Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
Country
United Kingdom
Some sparks like conduit other SWA, I prefer SWA as easier to fit, and it allows re-positioning items to a small extent without fitting new conduit.

Steel conduit I will admits looks better, but you need the machine to bend it and skill to use the machine. Only exception is when buried in concrete, can run new cables in conduit but SWA needs replacing if damaged.
 
Joined
20 Aug 2009
Messages
9,268
Reaction score
1,184
Location
Dorset
Country
United Kingdom
What's armoured conduit?

Do you mean metal galvanised or black enamel round conduit?

Who says it needs doing?

Metal trunking may be another option.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,100
Reaction score
3,350
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
If it's only from the switch to the machine, dare I mention the dreaded SY flex?
You can certainly mention it (and have done :) ), but I suspect that it might not satisfy the person who wants 'armour' - one imagines as much for 'mechanical protection' as for 'electrical safety'?

Kind Regards, John
 
Joined
20 Aug 2009
Messages
9,268
Reaction score
1,184
Location
Dorset
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, we know the various limitations of SY flex, least of all the fact is not even officially recognised.

Has it's uses though, and quite easy for a layman to install, as long as the armour is correctly earthed.

That's if it would be suitable for the op. Chances are it won't be.

I won't mention it again :D.
 
Joined
11 Jan 2013
Messages
5,198
Reaction score
1,091
Location
Durham
Country
United Kingdom
Is this the machine flexes you are being told to upgrade? (ie the bit from wall outlet to machine)? If so then flexible conduit is the only sensible option IMHO. Is this a workplace or a home setup? Is there any RCD protection on the supplies to the machines?
 
Sponsored Links
Top