Don't reset, FIND the problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
It just amazes me why so many people think that 're-setting the NVM' is going to solve their problem. So many do it and it only make things worse.

It really is an 'engineer' thing to do, as shown by so many of the posts here.

Most problems here seem to be the battery, and then the resultant reset of the NVM.

Quickie.
How many of the 're setters' know what NVM stands for and what it does? I'd guess not many, hence all the problems.

Don't reset, find the problem.

In too many years to mention as an alarm engineer I could count on one hand the number of panels I have had to reset in this way.

I honestly wish the facility was not mentioned in any paperwork and restricted to alarm companies only.

P.S.

Change the BATTERY first.

Sponsored Links
Only time I've needed to do it is where access is required into the engineers menus and the engineers code is not known.

In the nicest possible way and not trying to be sarky or troublesome - Possibly not a good hint to give readers. ie how to bypass engineers codes.??

In the nicest possible way and not trying to be sarky or troublesome - Possibly not a good hint to give readers. ie how to bypass engineers codes.??
Well you failed there then didn't you.

Why don't you read my post?

Sponsored Links

And you can do all that silently can you? Learn your trade eh?

And you can do all that silently can you? Learn your trade eh?

I acted in good faith and have so far just received two sarky answers in reply.

Great. I tried to warn how irresponsible that information might be but everyone wants to act the arse as usual.
Have it your own way.
looks to me like you haven't even considered the implications of what handing out this info could do.
Learn YOUR trade is more appropriately aimed at you.