Draining and refilling a Worcester 12/14 Heatslave boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have installed 2 new radiators in a loft conversion and I need to connect them into the CH system.
Does anyone know how to drain and refill the Oil Fired Boiler in my post title?

Do I actually need to do this or is there another way?

Any help appreciated..........

Sponsored Links
How high up is the loft and how low down is the boiler? Depends where you are taking the new feeds but chances are you won't be draining the boiler as such. More likely just relieving the system pressure while adding the radiators, then topping up the pressure and bleeding when finished.

A bit more info about the system and maybe even some pictures would be useful if you need more help.

Last edited:
image.jpg Thanks for getting in touch. It's a bungalow and all the pipework is just under the floor I have laid. You can see the loop that I think I can connect to. I'm a bit of a novice and not entirely sure about how to prevent the house from flooding!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    229.4 KB · Views: 504
OK it looks like you are connecting the new rads up into the highest point in the existing system (correct me if I'm wrong), just above the ground floor ceiling.

Are the two 15mm pipes in the photo the flow and return from the boiler which you will be cutting into? If so, before starting you should first check how many existing radiators are already being run off this feed or you may find the radiators in the loft, or others elsewhere in the house, not heating up very quickly.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
You are right. This is the highest point in the house. The pipe I intend to cut into is the 10mm microbore. The loop comes out of one manifold and goes back into the other as in the attached pic. There are 3 other pipes coming out and returning into these manifolds. The loop is connected with compression fittings and I thought this would be the obvious one to use.