Dripping through pipe with 'gap' in it in airing cupboard

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

Sorry, I have no knowledge but just hoping for a bit of expert input so I can understand what is going on and communicate to an engineer.

In our airing cupboard there is a vertical pipe with a plastic join which has a 'window' type gap in it (you can stick your finger all the way through) - which is now dripping - the water is going straight into the bottom part of the pipe so no mess but I'm wondering what is wrong and if this is a serious problem or just needs an adjustment.

The pipe comes down from the top of the airing cupboard ( we live in a flat) and the other pipe goes straight into the large white tank (Range Tribune HE).

Can anyone advise? I'd be very grateful.

K

Sponsored Links
I think it sounds like you have an 'unvented' (pressurised) hot water tank. The dripping you can see is likely to be coming from the Pressure Relief Valve (PRV), a safety device on the tank.

These tanks need to be treated with respect, you will need an Engineer with a 'G3' qualfication that shows he/she is trained to work on these types of tanks. It may be something simple but there is a reason its letting off water at the PRV, and it would be as well to get it checked out.

OP what name is written on your cylinder/tank.....it may just need the air pocket recharging if it is a megaflow type....instructions written on side....otherwise as has been said get engineer out

Sponsored Links
using my powers of observation I reckon its a RANGE TRIBUNE HE which has an expansion vessel (dont ask how I know)

too slow :oops:

Hi,

It's a Range Tribune HE.

Thanks for all the help, I have an engineer booked for tomorrow morning, in the meantime I have turned it off. It's still dripping though.

Thanks again,

Kat

DIYnot Local

Staff member